Lawrence East

The transit-oriented community (TOC) proposal at the future Lawrence and McCowan Station would provide more housing, including affordable housing, jobs, as well as retail and commercial space for businesses, with convenient access to transit, including connections to bus and subway services along the Scarborough Subway Extension (SSE).

The site would be developed by the province in line with the stated objectives of the TOC program.

We want to know more about you and your thoughts on the future of Lawrence East as a transit-oriented community.

Why is Lawrence East a designated TOC?

The future Lawrence East TOC would add housing, including affordable housing, jobs, plus retail and commercial space for businesses, with convenient access to transit, based on its proximity to the Lawrence and McCowan Station.

What are the benefits of the Lawrence East TOC Project?

The province, in consultation with the City of Toronto, is working on a development proposal that would serve the surrounding neighbourhood, with a mix of uses and amenities such as housing, including affordable housing, parkland, other community spaces, and employment uses in close proximity to transit and local communities.

The Lawrence East TOC would be located on the southeast corner of Lawrence Avenue East and McCowan Road. The proposed TOC would be comprised of three residential towers with retail and commercial uses on the lower levels, below-grade parking, and associated parks and open spaces.

A Privately Owned Publicly Accessible Space (POPS) is proposed at the corner of the intersection. This would create a vibrant and active public realm, with a tree-lined boulevard along McCowan Road and Lawrence Avenue East to accommodate a diverse range of uses. It would also provide an attractive urban tree canopy, improved signage and design elements to help people navigate the space, new street furniture, and public art opportunities. 

Economic activity

The Lawrence East TOC would include commercial space well-suited for a potential clinic to complement the adjacent and existing Scarborough General Hospital Campus, other employment uses, retail outlets and multiple outdoor amenity spaces. The Lawrence East TOC would be expected to generate approximately 357 jobs in the area. 

Environmental

The proposed development supports sustainability objectives by:

  • Locating homes and jobs directly adjacent to transit.
  • Providing on-site bicycle parking spaces in excess of by-law requirements.
  • Meeting requirements of green roofs and the Toronto Green Standard.

Housing

The proposed development is anticipated to deliver approximately 774 new residential units, providing a range and mix of housing options, including affordable housing. These would be complemented by a Privately Owned Publicly Accessible Space (POPS) extending the transit plaza on the west side of McCowan and a new park on site, to allow for active uses and connectivity to the existing neighbourhood to the east. 

Connectivity

The proposed Lawrence East TOC would be located on the southeast corner of McCowan Road and Lawrence Avenue East. A direct connection would be enabled from the TOC to the newly proposed Lawrence and McCowan subway station.

This area of Scarborough is currently car-oriented, with no bicycle lanes and limited public transit infrastructure. In proximity to the future Lawrence and McCowan Station, the TOC would help reduce car dependency and encourage more active travel.

The Lawrence and McCowan Station would serve the surrounding neighbourhood as a transit hub, facilitating convenient connections between the SSE stations and existing surface transit routes, including the 54 Lawrence East bus, which travels east-west, and the 16 McCowan bus, which travels north-south. 

The transit plaza would be framed by street furniture, double-rowed trees, and a pedestrian-oriented promenade across from the station main entrance and bus terminal on the southwest corner of Lawrence Avenue East and McCowan Road. These transit-oriented and pedestrian-friendly streetscape improvements would contribute to the walkability of the area while further supporting active travel by providing over 603 bicycle parking spaces for transit users.

Project documentation

Learn about the Project

We welcome you to join us to learn more about this TOC Project in your neighbourhood. Please register below to attend the open house. 

Comments about the Lawrence East TOC project will be accepted following the first virtual open house on March 26, at 6:30 pm.

We want to know more about you and your thoughts on the future of Lawrence East as a transit-oriented community.

Lawrence East

La proposition de communauté axée sur les transports en commun (CATC) à la future station Lawrence et McCowan fournirait plus de logements, y compris des logements abordables, des emplois ainsi que des espaces pour la vente au détail et le commerce pour les entreprises, outre un accès pratique aux transports en commun, notamment des correspondances aux services d’autobus et de métro le long du prolongement de la ligne de métro vers Scarborough.

L’emplacement sera aménagé par la province conformément aux objectifs énoncés du programme Communautés axées sur le transport en commun.

Nous voulons en savoir plus à votre sujet et sur ce que vous pensez de l’avenir de Lawrence East comme communauté axée sur les transports en commun.

Pourquoi Lawrence East est-elle une CATC désignée?

La future CATC de Lawrence East ajouterait plus de logements, y compris des logements abordables, des emplois ainsi que des espaces pour la vente au détail et le commerce pour les entreprises, outre un accès pratique aux transports en commun, en raison de sa proximité avec la station Lawrence et McCowan.

Quels sont les avantages du projet de CATC de Lawrence East?

La province, en consultation avec la ville de Toronto, travaille à une proposition d’aménagement qui servirait le quartier environnant, avec une mixité d’usages et des commodités telles que des logements, y compris des logements abordables, des parcs, d’autres espaces communautaires et des emplois à proximité des transports en commun et des communautés locales.

La CATC de Lawrence East serait située à l’angle sud-est de Lawrence Avenue East et de McCowan Road. La CATC proposée comprendrait trois tours résidentielles avec des commerces de détail et des activités commerciales aux niveaux inférieurs, un stationnement souterrain, ainsi que des parcs et des espaces ouverts associés.

Un espace public privé accessible est proposé à l’angle de l’intersection, ce qui permettrait de créer un domaine public dynamique et actif, avec un boulevard bordé d’arbres le long de McCowan Road et de Lawrence Avenue East, afin d’offrir une mixité d’usages. Cet espace fournirait également un couvert végétal urbain attrayant, une meilleure signalisation et des éléments de conception pour aider les gens à naviguer dans l’espace, un nouveau mobilier urbain et des possibilités d’art public.  

Activité économique

La CATC de Lawrence East comprendrait un espace commercial bien adapté à une clinique potentielle qui viendrait compléter le campus adjacent et existant de l’Hôpital général de Scarborough, d’autres emplois, des commerces de détail et de nombreux espaces d’agrément en plein air. La CATC de Lawrence East devrait générer environ 357 emplois dans le secteur. 

Environnement

L’aménagement proposé soutient les objectifs de durabilité en :

  • Introduisant des personnes et des emplois près des transports en commun;
  • Fournissant des espaces de stationnement pour bicyclettes sur place en dépassant les exigences du règlement municipal;
  • Respectant les exigences en matière de toits verts et celles de la norme verte de Toronto.

Logement

L’aménagement proposé prévoit la création d’environ 774 nouvelles unités résidentielles de façon à offrir un choix diversifié d’habitations, y compris des logements abordables. Ces unités seraient complétées par un espace public privé accessible prolongeant la place de transit sur le côté ouest de McCowan et un nouveau parc sur le site, pour permettre des utilisations actives et la connectivité avec le quartier existant à l’est. 
Connectivité

La CATC de Lawrence East serait située à l’angle sud-est de Lawrence Avenue East et de McCowan Road. Une liaison directe serait possible entre la CATC et la nouvelle station de métro Lawrence et McCowan.
Cette zone de Scarborough est actuellement orientée vers la voiture, sans pistes cyclables et avec une infrastructure de transport public limitée. À proximité de la future station Lawrence et McCowan, la CATC contribuerait à réduire la dépendance à l’égard de la voiture et à encourager les déplacements plus actifs.
La station Lawrence et McCowan servira de centre de transit pour le quartier environnant, facilitant les correspondances entre les stations SSE et les lignes de transport en commun de surface existantes, notamment l’autobus 54 Lawrence East, qui circule d’est en ouest, et l’autobus 16 McCowan, qui circule du nord au sud. 

La place de transit serait encadrée par du mobilier urbain, des arbres à double rangée et une promenade orientée vers les piétons, en face de l’entrée principale de la station et de la gare routière, à l’angle sud-ouest de Lawrence Avenue East et de McCowan Road. Ces améliorations du paysage urbain, axées sur les transports en commun et favorables aux piétons, contribueraient au potentiel piétonnier du secteur, tout en favorisant les déplacements actifs en offrant plus de 603 places de stationnement pour vélos aux usagers des transports en commun.

Documentation du projet

En savoir plus sur le projet

Nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous pour en savoir plus sur ce projet de CATC dans votre voisinage. Veuillez vous inscrire ci-dessous pour participer à la journée portes ouvertes.

Les commentaires sur le projet de CATC de Lawrence East seront acceptés après la première journée portes ouvertes virtuelle qui se tiendra le 26 mars à 18 h 30.

Nous voulons en savoir plus à votre sujet et sur ce que vous pensez de l’avenir de Lawrence East comme communauté axée sur les transports en commun.