Pape

The transit-oriented community (TOC) proposal at the future Pape Station would provide more housing, including affordable housing, jobs, and retail space for businesses, with convenient access to transit, including connections to subway service along the Ontario Line and Line 2 Bloor-Danforth, as well as the local bus network.

The site will be advanced by the province in line with the stated objectives of the TOC program.

Why is Pape a designated TOC?

The proposed Pape TOC would add housing, including affordable housing, jobs, and retail space next to the future Pape Station, providing the surrounding neighbourhood with connections to bus service, as well as subway service along the Ontario Line.

What are the benefits of the Pape TOC Project?

The province, in consultation with the City of Toronto, is working on a development proposal that would deliver new housing and employment opportunities at the future Pape Station, along the Ontario Line and Line 2 Bloor-Danforth.

The TOC would deliver a mix of mid-rise and high-rise buildings that would fit surrounding current and future neighbourhood conditions. Along Danforth Avenue, a series of stepbacks (tiered heights of the buildings) would provide a transition in height and density toward the main street. 

Additionally, the TOC would be designed in consideration of the adjacent low-rise neighbourhoods in the local community.

Recognizing Danforth Avenue’s role as one of Toronto’s busiest commercial thoroughfares, the TOC would include retail space for businesses, which will be located on Danforth Avenue along with the Ontario Line subway entrance, to provide convenient pedestrian access and greater pedestrian traffic to support the retail businesses.

Economic activity

The Pape TOC would include retail space for businesses, accommodating approximately 53 jobs and strengthening the existing commercial mixed-use character of Danforth Avenue and the broader Pape-Danforth neighbourhood.

The project would also deliver approximately 2,150 square metres of retail space, which would help support local economic development.

Environmental

The proposed TOC supports sustainability objectives by:

  • Locating homes and jobs directly adjacent to transit;
  • Providing on-site bicycle parking spaces in excess of by-law requirements;
  • Meeting requirements of green roofs and the Toronto Green Standard.

Housing

The proposed community is anticipated to deliver approximately 439 residential units, providing a range and mix of housing options, including affordable housing. Approximately 35% of the proposed residential units within the Pape TOC are currently planned as 2 or 3-bedroom units suitable for families or larger households.

These would be complemented by high-quality communal indoor and outdoor amenity spaces, which would act as an extension of personal living spaces, contributing to the well-being of residents and to overall liveability.

Connectivity

The future Pape Station would serve the surrounding neighbourhood as an interchange station connecting the Ontario Line, the TTC Bloor-Danforth line, and TTC buses. This would facilitate improved transit services and commutes as a result of consolidated transfers between two subway lines and surface transit routes. It would also support the area as a key transit node within the city.

The TOC would maximize access to and visibility of the transit station by strategically locating the station building in a prominent location along Danforth Avenue. It would introduce primary access points to the transit station from Danforth Avenue and Lipton Avenue, as well as a secondary access to the transit station from a new mid-block connection.

The proposed TOC supports the uptake of active transportation through the provision of over 480 bicycle parking spots with dedicated spaces reserved for transit users.

Project documentation

  • Cover Letter: Zoning By-Law Amendment Submission for Pape TOC, Ontario Line, North Segment (PDF | 457KB)
  • Project Data Sheet: Pape North (PDF | 836KB)
  • Project Data Sheet: Pape South (PDF | 841KB)
  • Contents List: Pape Rezoning Submission (PDF | 72KB)
  • Planning & Urban Design Rationale: Pape TOC (PDF | 44.9MB)
  • Functional Servicing Report: Pape TOC (PDF | 6.6MB)
  • Storm Water Management Report: Pape TOC (PDF | 7.1MB)
  • Rezoning Architectural and Landscape Set: Pape North (PDF | 10.2MB)
  • Rezoning Architectural and Landscape Set: Pape South (PDF | 16.6MB)
  • Transportation Impact Assessment Study Issued for Rezoning: Pape TOC (PDF | 4.2MB)
  • Electrical Engineering Reference Concept Design: Pape TOC (PDF | 875KB)
  • Mechanical Engineering Reference Concept Design: Pape TOC (PDF | 305KB)
  • Review of Pape Avenue TOC Noise Vibration Considerations (PDF | 55.6MB)
  • Heritage Detailed Design Report Addendum: Pape TOC (PDF | 3.1MB)
  • Geotechnical Desktop Study: Pape TOC (PDF | 9.3MB)

Learn about the project

We welcome you to join us to learn more about this TOC Project in your neighbourhood. Register below to attend the open house. 

Comments about the Pape TOC project will be accepted following the first virtual open house on April 2, at 6:30p.m. and/or the in-person on April 15, at 6:30p.m.

Pape

La proposition de communauté axée sur les transports en commun (CATC) à la future station Pape prévoit de créer de nouveaux logements, y compris des logements abordables, des emplois et des espaces de vente au détail pour les entreprises, en plus d’offrir un accès pratique aux transports en commun, notamment des correspondances avec le service de métro le long de la ligne Ontario et de la ligne 2 Bloor-Danforth, ainsi qu’avec le réseau d’autobus local.

L’emplacement sera aménagé par la province conformément aux objectifs énoncés du programme Communautés axées sur les transports en commun.

Nous vous invitons à nous rejoindre pour en savoir plus sur ce projet dans votre quartier. Inscrivez-vous pour assister à la journée portes ouvertes virtuelle le 2 avril 2024 à 18h30 et/ou à la journée portes ouvertes en personne le 15 avril 2024 à 18h30.
Nous voulons en savoir plus à votre sujet et sur ce que vous pensez de l’avenir de Pape comme communauté axée sur les transports en commun.

Pourquoi Pape est-elle désignée comme une CATC?

La CATC de Pape proposée prévoit de créer de nouveaux logements, y compris des logements abordables, des emplois et des espaces de vente au détail à proximité de la future station Pape, en plus d’offrir au voisinage des correspondances avec les services d’autobus et de métro le long de la ligne Ontario.

Quels sont les avantages du projet de CATC de Pape?

En consultation avec la ville de Toronto, la province prépare une proposition d’aménagement qui offrirait de nouveaux logements et des possibilités d’emploi à la future station Pape, le long de la ligne Ontario et de la ligne 2 Bloor-Danforth.

Le CATC offrirait un mélange d’immeubles de moyenne et de grande hauteur qui s’adapteraient aux conditions actuelles et futures des voisinages. Le long de l’avenue Danforth, une série de décrochements (hauteurs échelonnées des bâtiments) assurerait une transition en hauteur et en densité vers la rue principale.

En outre, la CATC serait conçue en tenant compte des quartiers adjacents de faible hauteur de la communauté locale.

Reconnaissant le rôle de l’avenue Danforth comme l’une des artères commerciales les plus fréquentées de Toronto, la CATC comprendra des espaces commerciaux pour les entreprises, qui seront situés sur l’avenue Danforth le long de l’entrée du métro de la ligne Ontario, afin d’offrir un accès pratique aux piétons et une plus grande circulation piétonne pour soutenir les commerces de détail.

Activité économique

La CATC de Pape comprendra des espaces de vente au détail pour les entreprises, de façon à offrir environ 53 emplois et à renforcer le caractère commercial et polyvalent de l’avenue Danforth et du quartier Pape-Danforth.

Le projet créera également de nouveaux espaces de vente au détail totalisant plus de 2 150 m², ce qui contribuera à soutenir le développement économique local.

Environnement

La CATC proposée soutient les objectifs de durabilité en :

  • Mettant en place des logements et des emplois près des transports en commun;
  • Fournissant des espaces de stationnement pour bicyclettes sur place en sus des exigences du règlement municipal;
  • Respectant les exigences en matière de toits verts et celles de la norme verte de Toronto.

Logement

La communauté proposée prévoit la création d’environ 439 unités résidentielles de façon à offrir un choix diversifié d’habitations, y compris des logements abordables. Il est prévu qu’environ 35 % des unités résidentielles proposées au sein de la CATC de Pape seront des unités de 2 ou 3 chambres à coucher convenant à des familles ou à des ménages plus nombreux.

Ces unités seront complétées par des espaces d'agrément intérieurs et extérieurs de haute qualité qui agiront comme un prolongement de l’espace de vie personnel, contribuant ainsi au bien-être des résidents et à la qualité de vie globale du voisinage.

Connectivité

La future station Pape desservirait le voisinage en tant que station d’échange reliant la ligne Ontario, la ligne Bloor-Danforth de la CTT et les autobus de la CTT. Cela permettrait d’améliorer les services de transport en commun et les déplacements domicile-travail grâce au regroupement des correspondances entre deux lignes de métro et les itinéraires de transport en commun de surface. Cela permettrait également de soutenir la zone en tant que nœud de transport en commun clé au sein de la ville.

La CATC maximiserait l’accès et la visibilité de la station de transport en commun en situant stratégiquement le bâtiment de la station dans un endroit bien en vue le long de l’avenue Danforth. Elle offrirait des points d’accès principaux à la station de transport en commun depuis l’avenue Danforth et l’avenue Lipton, ainsi qu’un accès secondaire à la station de transport en commun depuis une nouvelle connexion au milieu du pâté de maisons.

La CATC proposée favorise l’adoption du transport actif grâce à la création de plus de 480 places de stationnement pour bicyclettes, y compris des espaces réservés aux usagers du transport en commun.

Documentation du projet

  • Cover Letter: Zoning By-Law Amendment Submission for Pape TOC, Ontario Line, North Segment (PDF | 457KB)
  • Project Data Sheet: Pape North (PDF | 836KB)
  • Project Data Sheet: Pape South (PDF | 841KB)
  • Contents List: Pape Rezoning Submission (PDF | 72KB)
  • Planning & Urban Design Rationale: Pape TOC (PDF | 44.9MB)
  • Functional Servicing Report: Pape TOC (PDF | 6.6MB)
  • Storm Water Management Report: Pape TOC (PDF | 7.1MB)
  • Rezoning Architectural and Landscape Set: Pape North (PDF | 10.2MB)
  • Rezoning Architectural and Landscape Set: Pape South (PDF | 16.6MB)
  • Transportation Impact Assessment Study Issued for Rezoning: Pape TOC (PDF | 4.2MB)
  • Electrical Engineering Reference Concept Design: Pape TOC (PDF | 875KB)
  • Mechanical Engineering Reference Concept Design: Pape TOC (PDF | 305KB)
  • Review of Pape Avenue TOC Noise Vibration Considerations (PDF | 55.6MB)
  • Heritage Detailed Design Report Addendum: Pape TOC (PDF | 3.1MB)
  • Geotechnical Desktop Study: Pape TOC (PDF | 9.3MB)

En savoir plus sur le projet

Nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous pour en savoir plus sur ce projet de CATC dans votre voisinage. Veuillez vous inscrire ci-dessous pour participer à la journée portes ouvertes.

Les commentaires sur le projet de CATC de Pape seront acceptés après la première journée portes ouverte qui aura lieu le 15 avril à 18 h 30.

Nous vous invitons à nous rejoindre pour en savoir plus sur ce projet dans votre quartier. Inscrivez-vous pour assister à la journée portes ouvertes virtuelle le 2 avril 2024 à 18h30 et/ou à la journée portes ouvertes en personne le 15 avril 2024 à 18h30.
Nous voulons en savoir plus à votre sujet et sur ce que vous pensez de l’avenir de Pape comme communauté axée sur les transports en commun.